We were both in the bright sun,
the kind that beats down ruthlessly,
blinding all those who dare look up.
The bright white light piercing my eye
rendering me stark naked and grotesque
as if all that I had done floats to the surface.
You and I were both standing
under the same bright sun,
which ripped relentlessly at your skin and mine
exposing us both to the other
to see, to judge and rape with our eyes
the blinding sun setting us on fire.
You and I were both standing under the sun
the sky was aflame with a plethora of emotions
and one moment you looked straight into my eyes
the next you had turned away forever.

3 thoughts on “Turned Away

Leave a Reply

