I am still young, the miles ahead
far outnumber the seasons left behind.
But I am no stranger to love,
I have seen it, I have felt it.
I have seen the roll of loaded dice,
always in the favour of one over the other.
I have seen red in valentines’ hearts,
as red as the blood later on his hands.
I have seen science fiction come to life,
as human beings are reduced to zombies.
I have seen love.
I have seen a mother on the footpath
naked because her sari is the blanket
for her infant.
I have seen the scrawniest mongrel
growl at perceived risk to her puppies.
I have seen lovers break up
because maybe, just maybe,
their love was too much for a label to communicate.

Leave a Reply

