Do you remember, dear friend,
the times we held each other,
an embrace stronger than rock,
and laughed our hearts out?

Do you remember, dear friend,
the time when you told me the lie,
the one that kept me going even though,
somewhere, I knew it wasn’t true?

Do you remember, dear friend,
all the other lies that followed the first?
How you hurt me again, and again,
yet I still have the courage to call you ‘dear friend’.

Do you remember, dear friend,
how blindly I put all my faith in you?
And I do not lie when I say,
I shall do so forevermore.

Do you remember, dear friend,
how you weren’t broken as I was?
You never were one for emotion,
and me, a sentimental fool.

Do you remember, dear friend,
how you walked away despite reassurances?
‘I’m not going anywhere’, you said,
Yet my life turned into an abyss of chaos.

Do you remember, dear friend,
the words ‘Till death do us part’?
Of course you remember, and regret,
I meant it every time. You didn’t.

Do you remember, dear friend,
how you didn’t understand me?
I don’t even now, all I can do is
sit alone in a corner and count my scars.

Leave a Reply

